Five men were ordained as permanent deacons on Sunday 1 July.

Robert Charles, Dieudonne Mananga, James Forde-Johnston, Kevin Gowdy and Owen Gresty were ordained to the Permanent Diaconate by His Grace Archbishop Bernard Longley at St Chad’s Cathedral.

The packed Cathedral was filled with song as the five men were called to serve the servant church.

The word deacon derives from the Greek diakonia, meaning "service," thereby indicating that a deacon is called like Christ to be a servant. The Order of Deacon has three essential functions: the proclamation of the Gospel, the service of the liturgy, and the administration of charitable works.

The new deacons will be serving the parishes below:

Robert Charles, St. John the Baptist, Tamworth 

James Forde-Johnston, Saint Gregory and Saint Augustine, Oxford 

Kevin Gowdy, St. Joseph’s, Warndon, Worcester 

Owen Christopher Gresty, Holy Trinity, Sutton Coldfield 

Dieudonne Yimbu Mananga, Our Lady and St. Brigid, Northfield, Birmingham

Photo gallery

Ordination of Permanent Deacons July 2018